Dragonball: Evolution’s Writer For Film Apologizes!!!!!!

AHAHHAHA! I am sorry but when I heard the news I just laughed. So let us get right into what happened. A man named Darek Padula who is the author of “The Dao of Dragonball” and the writer of “Dragonball Z: Light of hope            live-action pilot” contacted the writer Ben Ramsey for Dragonball: Evolution. What he got back was an apology. Ben is also working on an up and coming book called “USA DBZ.”

(Ugh….look at it)

In this book will include a chapter about the development of Dragonball Evolution which has been to fans everywhere one of the most terrible, if not WORST live-action film to this day. I am not sure how many of you were fortunate NOT to see this movie but I bought my tickets to go see it in theaters  and along with other excited fans, sat down with my expensive popcorn and drink. The theater was packed! but I kid you not, not even a good 40min into the movie people began to leave….LEAVE! and when I saw piccolo I literally cried and joined my fellow fans out the damn door.

So back to Darek who contacted Ben for a little interview. Ben apologized for what he had done and it seems a lot of fans are willing to accept it. I accept it, I mean at least he owned up to it and so that is that, hopefully someone else takes the reins though!

I knew that it would eventually come down to this one day. Dragonball: Evolution marked a very painful creative point in my life. To have something with my name on it as the writer be so globally reviled is gut wrenching. To receive hate mail from all over the world is heartbreaking. I spent so many years trying to deflect the blame, but at the end of the day it all comes down to the written word on page and I take full responsibility for what was such a disappointment to so many fans. I did the best I could, but at the end of the day, I ‘dropped the dragon ball.’

I went into the project chasing after a big payday, not as a fan of the franchise but as a businessman taking on an assignment. I have learned that when you go into a creative endeavor without passion you come out with sub-optimal results, and sometimes flat out garbage. So I’m not blaming anyone forDragon Ball but myself. As a fanboy of other series, I know what it’s like to have something you love and anticipate be so disappointing.

To all the Dragon Ball fans out there, I sincerely apologize. I hope I can make it up to you by creating something really cool and entertaining that you will like and that is also something I am passionate about. That’s the only work I do now.

-Ben Ramsey, Source: Comic Book Resources.

 

 

Leave a Reply

